Insomnia 10-5

My insomnia is back.

As a teen and into my early 20’s I had diagnosed insomnia. I say “diagnosed” because lots of people throw the word “insomnia” around like it’s no big deal. It has become synonymous with a lack of sleep or waking up and feeling tired from a restless night. Insomnia is much more than those things.

I used to not sleep for a days. I might lay down and close my eyes for a couple hours at a time but I’d never finish REM cycles and a lot of the time I couldn’t get past the first stage of sleep. Here is an explanation of how sleep is supposed to work. If you think you really have insomnia please see a doctor. But also try to handle it with as little medication as possible. Most the things they will give you are highly addictive, I can speak to addiction in another post. For now I will start my nightly routine up again. It has been a couple years since I have had insomnia. No doubt it is from all the recent stress and in the past identifying the key stressor and finding ways to cope with it has helped. 

Gotta run, if you have questions, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

